Florida DUI Penalties
Under Florida law you can be convicted of DUI if your normal faculties are impaired or your blood alcohol or breath alcohol level is .08 or above. If you are convicted of a DUI, and it is your first offense you can expect to be sentenced as follows:
* Probation: not to exceed one year. You will be required to report to a probation officer once a month to ensure you are complying with the terms of your probation.
* DUI School: a 12-hour class for DUI offenders. You will be required to undergo a psycho-social evaluation. This is done to determine whether or not the state feels you have a problem with alcohol or an alcohol addiction.
* Jail: Not more than 6 months, unless your BAL is .15 or higher or you have a minor in the car.
* Fines: Depending on your breath-test result the fine is between $500-$1000.
* 50 hours of Community Service.
* Revocation of Drivers License of up to 1 year.
* Impound of your vehicle for 10 days.
* Court cost and cost of prosecution.
* Possible court ordered installation of interlock ignition device.
If you have been charged with DUI call me for a free consultaion. Without legal training you will lack the understanding of criminal procedure, and the possible defenses
such as was there a valid of stop of your vehicle,
was there legal grounds to ask you to submit to field sobriety test and a breathalyzer test,
if you refuse the breathalyzer test can the prosecutor use this against you,
can the prosecutor still prove the case against you if you refuse FSB and BAC.
If you have been charged with a DUI call me for a free consultation. DUI is a criminal traffic offense and a mandatory court appearance is required. Therefore you must take action promptly
Call us with any questions.