Possession of Cannabis Concentrates in Florida
(What’s In That Vape Pen?)
As previously discussed, the use of Cannabis in Florida without medical authorization is illegal. Cannabis concentrates include THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), and comes in many forms such as wax, crumble, resin, oil, hashish oil to name a few. Concentrates contain large amount of THC. Cannabis users have turned to vaping, dabbing or edibles to be less conspicuous.
Common defenses are:
- Constructive possession
- Lack of knowledge
- Illegal search and seizure
- Prescription defense
- Medical necessity
The possession of concentrates is a 3rd degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Pursuant to FS 322.055, any person convicted of possession of concentrates may have their driving privileges revoked for one year by the DMV.
On March 18, 2019, Gov. Ron DeSantis signed SB 186 into law, repealing the ban on smoking medical cannabis. The key is you must go through an approved medical provider and obtain state approval.
This article is not to be intended to give you legal advice.
If you have been arrested or issued a notice to appear (court summons) time is of the essence.
Call me for a free consultation at 813-281-8801 or text me at 813-235-0731.